Monday 2 December 2013

International Publishers Association Call for Nominations: 2014 IPA Freedom to Publish Prize

The closing date for nominations for the 2014 IPA Freedom to Publish Prize is 6 January 2014.

The Prize will be awarded on 27 March 2014, during the IPA Congress in Bangkok, and the recipient will receive CHF20,000, thanks to the generous sponsorship of the following publishers: Albert Bonniers Förlag, Elsevier, HarperCollins, Kodansha, Macmillan, OUP, Penguin Random House, and Simon & Schuster.

Nominees can either be publishers who have recently published controversial works in the face of pressure, threats, intimidation or harassment from government or other authorities; or publishers with a long and distinguished history of upholding the values of freedom to publish and freedom of expression.

IPA member organisations, members of the IPA Freedom to Publish Committee, individual publishers, and international professional and non-government organisations working in the field of freedom of expression can nominate candidates for the IPA Freedom to Publish Prize.

Those nominating must explain the reasons behind their choice of candidate in writing (in English, French or Spanish) using the attached form as a template. Nominations should be submitted to the IPA’s Policy Director, José Borghino ( no later than close-of-business (Geneva time) on 6 January 2014.

More about the 30th IPA Congress and the IPA Freedom to Publish Prize Ceremony: 

The 30th IPA Congress will be held in Bangkok, Thailand, on 25-27 March 2014, and will be hosted by the Publishers and Booksellers Association of Thailand (PUBAT) under the auspices of HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn. To see the Program, go to the Congress website.

On the eve of the Bangkok Book Fair (28 March to 8 April), hundreds of publishers from all over the world will participate in the Congress, together with authors, copyright specialists, librarians and officials from around 50 countries and international organisations.

The 2014 IPA Freedom to Publish Prize will be awarded during the Congress on 27 March 2014. Aung San Suu Kyi has been invited to give the keynote speech and award the Prize.

Earlybird online registration for the Congress is available from the Congress website.

No comments:

Post a Comment